Song of the Lioness

 

Lately, I have revisited books by Tamora Pierce. Now I know that she is considered YA fiction and (aren’t you a bit old for this?) type genre. But I had to revisit the roots of my avid reading~ fantasy. Not just any ol’ fantasy, but one where the main character is a kick-butt female and the story takes place during a time of castles, horses, chivalry, and magic.

Alanna is part of a 4-book series entitled Song of the Lioness. It takes place back when there were no female knights, and of course she strives out to be oneof the first. It helps that she is smart, resourceful, a wickedly quick wit, oh and she is a powerful healer who just happens to have the Goddess looking out for her. Despite the fact that the odds are stacked against her, she still finds a way to pave her own path. I like the sound of that~ after all that is real life!

So the writing may be simplistic, being a YA book and all, but there is something compelling about Pierce’s writing. I have read many of her other series (included in my Lists of Bests) and found each of them equally compelling, and equally fast to read. While, the plots may seem a bit simplistic, I find the characters compelling and it makes me want to read on and try to see what happens. (Isn’t that what Harry Potter is as well??) Come on, who doesn’t wish there was a bit of magic power in us? At least I can imagine that life in this series.

Leave a comment